Policy Title: Library Card & Borrowing Policy

Effective Date:

OBTAINING A LIBRARY CARD:

How to Apply for a New Library Card:

- 1. In person Fill out a registration form, provide a picture ID and proof of residency (see below).
- 2. Via the Library Online Catalog at http://polaris.flaglercounty.org/polaris/ Select "My Account" then "Register" to BEGIN the registration process and place a hold on 1 item only. To complete the registration process and receive a library card, come in person to either the Palm Coast or Bunnell locations and present a picture ID and proof of residency (see below).
 *NEW E-Cards are available to access eBooks, eAudiobooks, eMagazines, and online databases ONLY. Begin the registration process via the Library Online Catalog as described above, then send an image of your picture ID and proof of residency (see below) to CardRenewals@flaglercounty.org. Please allow 48 hours for a response that will include your E-Card information.

How to Renew My Card:

- 1. In person Renewals Provide a picture ID, proof of residency (see below) and current library card.
- 2. Virtual Renewals Card renewals are accepted via email by sending an image of your current library card, picture ID and proof of residency (see below) to CardRenewals@flaglercounty.org. Please allow 48 hours for a response. Virtual renewals are still subject to the restrictions as set above for all unresolved fines, fees and other claims.

Registration:

The Flagler County Public Library registers, both residents and non-residents, without regard to race, creed, color, national origin, religious affiliation, sex, disability or economic status.

All registration and lending records of the system, except statistical reports of registration and circulation are confidential information. No staff member will, under any circumstances, divulge this information. This policy is in accordance with Florida Statute 257.261. Requests for lending or customer information from law enforcement officials should be referred to the Director.

Library cards are eligible for an annual renewal at which time all fines, charges or unresolved claims must be paid in full. Personal information will be updated at this time. At the time of renewal, identification and residency must be re-verified as if you were applying for a new card.

Eligibility:

New Resident Library cards are free to applicants meeting any one of the criteria below:

- 1. Permanent or legal resident of Flagler County.
- 2. Property owner in Flagler County.
- 3. Flagler County employee.
- 4. Student attending school in Flagler County.

Reciprocal Borrower Cards:

A resident of the State of Florida who resides in the service area or county with which Flagler County has established a formal borrowing agreement, and has been issued an FCPL borrower's card in accordance with this policy. Currently only St. John's County and Volusia County have reciprocal borrowing agreements with Flagler County.

Registration Requirements:

In order to obtain a library card:

- Full-time residents must present his or her completed registration form, photo I.D. and proof of residency (print or electronic format accepted) to include any of the following: Valid Florida's Driver's License, Florida State ID, voter's registration/voters card, military ID, current rent receipt, checks imprinted with local address, legal mail, state ID, tax receipt, tax bill, property deed, utility bill, mortgage or lease agreement, vehicle registration, county employment ID, local college or high school ID, or Library card from reciprocal counties.
- *Part-time residents* must complete the registration form, present a photo I.D., plus proof of residency. Part-time is a resident of Flagler County with a short-term rental agreement that is at least 6 months in length. The card will be valid for the length of the agreement or lease.
- Non-Resident Cards: A non-resident is an individual who neither owns real property nor resides in Flagler County on a permanent or continual basis. Individuals with non-resident status may obtain a temporary library card for a fee. Applicants must show a Valid Driver's License or State ID and provide local mailing information as well as permanent address information. Military personnel and their families who are stationed in the State of Florida are eligible for a free card with Military ID. Fees for non-resident cards are as follows:
 - o 1 month \$10.00
 - o 3 months \$15.00
 - o 6 months \$30.00
 - o 1 year \$50.00

Age Requirements

All individuals 16 or older may apply for a library card with a photo ID and proof of residency. Proof of age may also be required to establish eligibility as an adult. Cards will be issued for children from birth to age 15 with written consent of the parent or legal guardian. The responsible parent/legal guardian and child must both be present and the adult must provide proof of residency. Their signature indicates acceptance of responsibility for all materials borrowed against the library card.

Replacement Cards:

Lost or stolen cards must be replaced at a cost of \$3.00 per card. Proper ID must be shown in order to replace a library card. **Caution:** If your card is lost or stolen please report it immediately. Customers are responsible for all materials checked out on their card until a loss is reported.

Forgotten Cards: If you forget to bring your valid Flagler County Public Library Card and want to borrow items or use a computer we will accommodate your request for a fee of \$.50 per transaction. (A valid photo I.D. is required)

Disabled/Homebound Patrons:

Disabled/Homebound customers may designate a person to represent them at the library. This person will be authorized to check out materials only using the library card of the homebound person. The name of the designated person will be listed in the customer file of the homebound person. The disabled/homebound person retains the responsibility for all materials checked out on the card.

BORROWING LIBRARY MATERIALS:

Checkout

Customers are required to have their library card in hand or scanned to a mobile device in order to borrow all materials, including items borrowed through Interlibrary Loan. **Library Cards are non-transferrable with one exception:** Only items on hold/reserve may be picked by another person providing they have the borrower's library card. Non-receipt of the material does not exempt the borrower from responsibility. Persons who allow friends or family members to use their library cards do so at their own risk.

Loan Period

All print materials and audio books will be checked out for a loan period of two (2) weeks. DVD and Blu-Ray movies will be checked out for a loan period of one (1) week. There is a maximum of twenty (20) items per library card, however only five (5) of these items can be DVDs or Blu-Rays. At the customer's request, longer loan periods for residents who are traveling may be available for audio books only. A maximum of four (4) audio books, excluding those marked "NEW", for a total of four (4) weeks is allowed.

Renewals

Borrowed items, with the exception of items on reserve for another customer, may be renewed up to a maximum of three (3) times. The library card account must be current and in good standing. This can be done in person, by phone, or online by logging in to your account on www.flaglerlibrary.org and selecting "Library Catalog" then "my account". If renewing by phone, customers MUST call during normal business hours, have their library card number available, and speak with a staff member. Voicemail requests will **NOT** be accepted. *Items may Auto-Renew up to three (3) times to prevent fines from accruing, as long as the item isn't on reserve.

Holds/Reserves

Holds/Reserves may be placed on *any item currently in the collection with the exception of reference materials and the most current issue of any magazine subscription. Items currently on shelf can take up to 48 hours to process. When a hold/reserve item is available for pickup customers will be contacted either by phone, text or email as per their preference. We will hold the item/items for three (3) business days. If the item/items are not picked up in that time frame, it/they will be moved on to the next patron or re-shelved. The library isn't responsible for messages not received when left by voice mail or with other household members.

*Due to the limited supply of items in the Bunnell Branch collection, all holds/reserves for these items must be picked up at the Bunnell Branch.

Returns

All items can be returned to the Main Library and Bunnell Branch in person during operating hours. Both the Main Library and the Bunnell Branch have an after-hours drop off area located near the main entrance of each facility.

Interlibrary Loan

Flagler County Public Library card holders may use the services of our Interlibrary Loan Department (ILL) for items which we do not own. We will accept ILL request forms in person during normal operating hours. There is a processing fee of \$2.00 per item requested. Patrons can also initiate their own ILL requests over the internet using Florida ILL Navigator located at http://floridanav.worldcat.org/ - payment for these items is due at the time of pickup. Although the Library has an almost 100% fill rate there is no guarantee and the fee is non-refundable. All items lost or damaged are the responsibility of the patron. Customers will be assessed replacement cost plus any other fees as established by the lending library. Borrowing privileges will be suspended until compensation is made.

Items published within the last six (6) months, DVD's, CD's, or other audio visual materials cannot be borrowed from other libraries. Customers will be notified when items are ready for pickup and will have a three (3) day time frame for pickup unless other arrangements are made with the ILL department.

Reference Materials

Reference materials may not be borrowed or removed from the building. Customers are free to use them in the building and copy what is needed using the public copy machines.

Late, lost or damaged materials

Customers agree to be responsible for all borrowed materials on their library card. A fine of \$.15 per day per print and audio book material and a fine of \$.50 per day per DVD, Blu-Ray or Video will be assessed after the 3 day grace period.

Maximum fine accrued per item is \$5.00. When fines/fees on one card exceed \$4.99 or five or more overdue items are checked out to that card, the account is blocked and borrowing/renewing/reserving privileges are suspended until the materials are returned or the fine is paid in full or at least below the maximum fine of \$5.00. Furthermore, cards issued to minors 15 and under will be suspended when the parent/legal guardian designated as "responsible" owes the maximum fines/fees or has exceeded the maximum number of overdue materials allowed. The reverse is also true, when a minor 15 and under owes the maximum fines/fees and/or the number of overdue materials has exceeded the maximum allowed then the card issued to the parent/legal guardian designated as "responsible" will also be suspended. When an adult library card holder 16 and over is suspended, all cards he/she is designated as "responsible" for will also be suspended. Once fines/fees are below the maximum or paid in full and overdue materials are returned, all library card privileges will be reinstated at that time.

Customers will be assessed replacement costs on all lost or damaged items plus a \$2.00 processing fee per item.

Refunds – Customers must present the receipt along with the material to receive a refund of the cost of the material. Processing fees are not refundable. Refunds must be requested within 90 calendar days of the payment for the lost item. Refunds are processed/issued by Flagler County, not the Flagler County Public Library and may take four to six weeks to receive a refund.

Issuance of overdue notices to borrowers is not a legal requirement. Non-receipt of a notice does not eliminate liability for outstanding materials or fines.

^{*}Approved and amended by the Library Board of Trustees on 6/14/2021; effective beginning 7/01/2021.